What does Love mean to you? – #1

I woke up with this question on my mind and as simple as it sounds, I haven’t really been able to answer it yet. Apparently, HS wants me to talk about this for a while and as much as I do not know where this leads, I trust God that we all will be blessed at the end of this…mini-series/question-answer time/ soul searching time. Amen!

Back to this million dollar question, the first answer that came to my mind was that love meant God! But HS said that was too ambiguous i.e if love means God, then what/who is God? Followed by many other questions I wasn’t sure I wanted to answer yet…

So, this is me trying to untangle my thoughts and feelings and answer this simple difficult question:

Phototastic-20_07_2017_29ef9cff-55a8-4b2f-8bfb-57fa6be6731c

Kene, what does love mean to you?

(okay this is a bit hard, lol) Love to me is a deep sense of liking towards someone or something. Love means depth to me! Love is that one thing I try as much as possible not to say except I mean it…love is what comes to mind when I think of my family and how I feel towards them. Love is what I feel towards jollof rice and chicken, because my feelings towards it is pretty strong (đŸ™ˆ)….love is a deep affection for something or someone….Love is passionate and unconditional and enduring. Love entails commitment…Love is love!

(I feel like I am rambling, I think I am…help me Lord!) I don’t think I have loved many things/people going by my definition then…but I know I have experienced love and still do. And I think I have also loved! (and I confess this with a smile, lolz). Love is giving yourself over….exposing your vulnerability for another to see regardless. Love is trusting.

let me describe what love means to me in terms of my feelings for jollof rice: I looove jollof rice! (*eyes rolling*, *tongue sticking out*, *grinning like a fish*) For jollof rice, I feel a certain kind of deep hunger like no other (đŸ™ˆ). Thoughts of eating jollof rice alone, makes me shake….I am an addict, I am unrepentant, I am a fan! I hardly dance anywhere outside my comfort zone (which constitutes my family and friends, I am pretty shy) but I have a jollof rice dance that I can do anywhere, anytime just by seeing the meal…Everyone knows I am a certified foodie…but my affection for Jollof rice and grilled chicken, if I must add, is on another level o… As long as it is jollof rice, it looks good and smells good, I am game! Lolz, for jollof rice, I can go on and on and on….

But is this love?

 

p.s – If you can help me, I will be immensely grateful! Kindly use the comment box below or simple send me a mail @thatkennyandrew@gmail.com. Thanks.

 

 

4 thoughts on “What does Love mean to you? – #1

  1. To me, Love is what drives me to go the extra mile, to make sacrifices, to get out of my comfort zone. When I love something, I want to have it all cost. And when I love someone, I’ll do what I can to see that person happy.
    Love is God, God is Love.
    The ultimate Love shown was God sacrificing His most precious just to get back to us, and then giving us the Grace to Love others also. He Loved us while we were undeserving.
    John 15:13 speaks of the greater Love-sacrifice.
    I believe Love is Sacrifice. The economists put it as opportunity cost. When you’re willing to give up something worthwhile just to do, be or have what you Love
    Love is also what makes what we do of worth. 1 Corinthians 13:1-2 summarized says that all we do would be meaningless if we didnt do it out of Love. And the rest of the chapter describes Love.

    Like

  2. The best definition of love is 1 Corithians 13.
    But there’s a definition by Myles Munroe that is a bit scary. He says Agape is a decision to commit to meet someone’s needs for the rest of their lives without expectation!!!
    We humans to some extent have shades of love, but the only true lover is the Lord. He is the one that loved us without expecting anything in return. Lobe is his personality.
    Well, I have decided to adopt Daddy Myles’ definition. That’s what love is to me

    Like

Leave a comment